Piracy from Disc to On-line

My Sassy Girl made a hit in the Philippines through illegal distribution, around 2004 (not sure). The movie was pirated, and sold in the streets. People had a cheaper alternative to entertainment, and introduce a wide variety of content.

I was one of the pirated DVD consumers, during those time. The entertainment and happiness I get, from film didn’t cost much; because I didn’t have enough allowance to buy all the movies I wanted to watch.

But I know on-line video streaming was already available, I was watching music videos and uploaded shows in youtube.com. On-ground piracy and On-line videos streaming were available in Philippines; but the mass public had more access to On-ground piracy.

Downloading back then, was more convenient to music rip, conversion, and file sharing. I think movie files, require more storage capacity, faster connection to for web share.

Now that on-line connection, or the web was made accessible to the public (everyone in Philippines loves wife areas); on-ground piracy loss its patrons. Illegal disc selling eventually decreases.

I had a conversation with my younger brother, when I started this investigation;

I asked my younger brother to stop downloading, and getting free files the net.

I told him it’s stealing. My intelligent brother replied:

Younger Brother: “Paano mo nanakawin ang isang bagay na libre?”

Translation: “How can steal something that was given for free?

He didn’t understand; the business side of the entertainment, and distribution industry. Properly documented selling of content, makes the business operation running for the benefit of it’s employees. The profit is use to develop new strategy, to improve the organization, and widen the scope of business enterprise.

I remember, one question I asked myself (2010); during the time I was working for a film production company; “Kung hindi ninyo titigilan ang piracy or on-line downloading; papatayin ninyo ang industriyang pag-tratrabahunan ninyo sa kinabukasan”

Translation: “If you don’t stop illegal downloading, you’ll kill the industry you want to belong with in the future.”

It’s difficult to make people understand the concept of fair pricing; if they are battling for their right of information.

Hope the Optical Media Board can facilitate seminars to educate younger audience to be responsible viewers.

 

Leave a Reply

