17 Again

“Father’s day Movie Date”

Many time travel movie had been produce, few leave a dent in our hearts. One of my favorite time travel movie “17 Again.” It’s a story about a  father given a chance to re-do all the mishap of his life. On his way of regaining his life, he bump into his children, and discovered that he has been a neglectful father; so instead he tried to become their friends, while settling his divorce.

Being a Father and friend is difficult, because of age gap. This film made us see how much guidance our youth need, during their growing years. Surprisingly, in this story Mike, was saving his children from his own mistake. Teaching and sharing his experience because he knows the difficulty that lies ahead.

Before & After Final

High school is where teenagers find their identity. During this time youngster are developing a level of secrecy, eager to prove independence. In Mike’s story, he discovered that his kids unknown side and their true situation in school. This compels him to prioritize their issues over his, making his journey about helping his children get through challenging circumstances, that deals with bully, teenage pregnancy and preparation for college.

Aalex bullied

children bullied

Here are the few scenes that touches my heart.

1. The pain of Divorce

Scarlet: Really, so I spend the last 18 years of my life, listening to you whining about all the things you could have done with me, and I have no right.

Scarlet: I think you quit that one just because, you decided not to  try anymore.

ppt pictures

Mike: Look, try to see things in my point of view. I’m extremely disappointed with my life.

Scarlet: I never asked you to marry me.

Mike: But I did!

Scarlet: Ah ump… Well, you don’t have to do me any favors then . We are not gonna hold each other back anymore okey.

Mike: Scar…

Scarlet: I’ll see you at court, okey…

Goodbye

Left alone

 2. U.B.E. with Dad (Ultimate Bonding Experience with Dad)

Mark: Since we are practically family. We should keep an eye on each other.

Alex: Yeah, why not. Next time get there, before they tape in the toilet.

Mike making Alex better

Mark: That point, should be way, way, in the future right. No, no, no his right. I don’t need one, you know why I don’t need one its because there is no one I’m in love with. It called making love isn’t it. Maybe I’m old fashion, but I think you do it with someone you love, and preferably when you are married.

You know when you are ready to take that love, and turn it into a baby, because that’s what love is. It is the first moment when you hold your baby girl, and you didn’t know that anything could be so small, so delicate, and you feel that tiny heart beat, and you know you couldn’t love anything more in the whole world.

And hope you can do right, by that little girl. I’ll always be there to catch her when she falls, and nothing ever hurts, a broken arm, bad dream, or a broken heart .

Mike: hey… hey it’s ok. You know when your young everything feels like it’s the end of the world. It’s not, it’s just the beginning. You might have to meet few more jerks, but one day your going meet a boy. Who treats you the way you deserve to be treated. The sun rises and sets with you.

Maggie: You really think so,

Mike: I know so.

Mike to Maggie

3. Remembering why you fell in love

Mike: Scarlet, before you go through this, I want to remind you of Sept. 7, 1988. It was the first time I saw you. You are reading less than zero. You  are wearing guns and roses t-shirt.

I’ve never seen anything so perfect. I remember thinking, that I have to have you or I’ll die.

And you whispered that you love me. At the home coming dance, and I felt so peaceful and safe. Because I knew that no matter what happened, from that day on nothing can be that bad. Because I had you.

Then I grew up, then I lost my ways and I blamed you for my failures. I know you think that you have to do this today. I don’t want you too. But I guess, if I love you. I should let you move-on.

The feeling reminds me of...

4. Family completes me

Mike: I lost my family.

Ned: Hey mike, for consolation I really think you helped your kids. You did your job, and now the hero can move-on.

Mike: I don’t want too… Maybe they don’t need me anymore, but I need them

Heart hug Like father like daughter

5. It always been you

Scar: You didn’t have to come after for me again.

Mike: Yes, I did because I love you. You’re the best decision I ever made, I just forgot. Then I fell-off the bridge. The things get pretty weird, after that, but I’m never gonna forget again. I know I’ve been in a bad mood for the last twenty years, but if you let me, I swear I will spend the rest of my life making it up to you.  I thought I want a second chance in life, but now I know I just want a second chance with you.

Scar: Weird! I miss you.

truly together

This movie will make you appreciate having a best friend dad. I’m thankful for Jason Filardi and  Burr Steers for this movie!

It’s a timeless movie about a father with his nerd best friend and younger self, fighting to keep his family together in a dramatic and comedy way.

Hope you enjoy watching it with your family.

by: blood drop

Leave a Reply

